Sign in

Time for Action Rallies - All details

We made proposals; AHS did not care

Update for Locals 041, 043, 044, 045, 046

May 31, 2024

Text only block

Your negotiating team met with AHS on May 29 and 30 to try and make some progress with bargaining. 

We gave the employer our revised, full package of proposals, which they spent most of two days to review. When they finally met with us, the employer focused almost exclusively on their own proposals and did not meaningfully respond to what we gave them. 

AHS made it clear they are not interested in giving us the wages, benefits, and improved working conditions we deserve. 

Instead of offering competitive wages and benefits to attract more nursing care workers to the province—which would be a great way to fix our recruitment and retention crisis—AHS is happy to be a middle-of-the-road employer. 

Your team was firm. We told AHS that they have an obligation to seriously consider our proposals and we expect them to do so in time for our next meetings. 

Wear red June 12 

Our next bargaining meetings are scheduled for June 12. Wear red on that day to show AHS we are outraged by their behavior in bargaining.  

Take selfies of you and your coworkers wearing red, then send them to photos@aupe.org to be shared on AUPE’s social media. 

Urgent Bargaining Town Halls  

AUPE’s Time for Action bargaining town halls are happening throughout June and all members are invited. Please visit the town hall website for details on the town hall nearest you. 

You will also receive email invitations, shareable posters, and timely reminders to ensure everyone has the chance to attend. All AUPE members are encouraged to join these urgent town halls. 

Please contact a member of your negotiating team if you have any questions. 

AUPE NEGOTIATING TEAM – AHS Nursing Care

Local 041 

Christine Vavrik  
rvavrik@shaw.ca  

Mellissa Bremner (alt)  
mellissabremner@gmail.com 

  

Local 043   

Sandy Miller  
smiller98@msn.com   

Jennifer Power (alt)  
cherrigarcia24@yahoo.ca 

  

Local 044 

Marg Miller 
marg.miller@hotmail.ca 

Jesse Philp (alt)  
local044chair@gmail.com 

  

Local 045 

Nancy Burton  
ndburton@hotmail.com 

Angela Smyth (alt)  
angelscare.as@gmail.com 

  

Local 046 

Marty Roy 
chairlocal46@gmail.com 

Heather Stewart (alt) 
stewart.h@live.ca 

  

AUPE NEGOTIATORS

Kate Robinson Lead Negotiator  
k.robinson@aupe.org 

Chris Dickson Negotiator 
c.dickson@aupe.org 

News Category

  • Bargaining updates

Related articles