Sign in

Time for Action Rallies - All details

Bethany Care Society: Six years of bargaining is drawing to a close

Update for Local 084 Chapters 009, 010, 011, 012, 013, 014, 015, 016, 017 – Bethany Care Society Nursing Care & General Support Services

Sep 14, 2023

Ratification dates will be announced soon

Text only block

Your negotiating teams are pleased to report that on September 1 we signed a tentative agreement with the employer that matches the Alberta Health Services monetary pattern on percentage wage increases and Covid lump sum payments.

On September 27, we will meet with the employer again to review any outstanding non-monetary concerns, including key items relating to seniority, temporary workers’ vacation and special leave.

Throughout the informal mediation process, we have had the assistance of provincial mediator, Mia Norrie. The parties have agreed that the mediator will write recommendations for any articles which remain outstanding after the final bargaining session has concluded.

We will receive the mediator’s written recommendations no later than October 25, after which we will set dates for ratification.

Late last year, members agreed to the employer’s request to consolidate Bethany’s various nursing care agreements into one master agreement, and its general support services agreements into another master agreement. However, for most of these groups, bargaining first started in 2017.

Among the individual agreements, seven -- Airdrie, Calgary, Cochrane, Collegside, Didsbury, Harvest Hills, Sylvan lake – are renewal agreements and three -- Riverview, Mountview Lodge, Sundre Supportive living – are first agreements. These first agreements benefited additionally, as they inherited the strong language of the more mature agreements with which they are now merged. The first agreements will include retroactive pay back to the date of certification.

More highlights from the tentative agreement are below.

Nursing Care

Wage increases

  • October 1, 2021 – 1% general wage increase *retroactive
  • September 1, 2022 – 1.25% general wage increase *retroactive
  • Effective April 1, 2023 – 2% general wage increase

Covid premium

  • NC workers will receive a lump sum of 1% for all hours worked in 2021

At the date of ratification, the NC agreement will match AHS basic hourly wage rates.

Wage grid alignment

NC workers will not suffer a reduction in their basic rate of pay as a result of the implementation of the new salary schedule. This applies to:

  • Health care aides, occupational therapy aides and recreation assistants at Step 6;
  • LPNs at Airdrie and Cochrane worksites at steps 2, 3, 4 and 5;
  • LPNs at Airdrie and Cochrane worksites at Step 6, unless the employee qualifies to move to Step 8.

An Employee whose basic rate of pay exceeds the basic rate of pay for the wage step of their classification as of the date of ratification will have their basic rate of pay maintained until they receive an increment to the next wage step, or they transfer to a new classification.

General Support Services

Wage increases

  • April 1, 2019 – 1% general wage increase. *retroactive
  • September 1, 2022 – 1% general wage increase. *retroactive
  • Effective April 1, 2023 – 2% general wage increase

Covid premium

  • GSS workers will receive a lump sum of 1% for all hours worked in 2021, plus a $1400 lump sum pro-rated to FTE for 2021.

Wage grid alignment

Rates for Calgary and Airdrie worksites will align in the consolidated GSS agreement, effective the date of ratification, by providing the following adjustments:

  • Bethany Airdrie – Clerk / Receptionist and Rehabilitation Aide Step 2 increases by $0.54 per hour to $19.92
  • Bethany Calgary – Maintenance Worker I Step 1 increases by $0.01 to $18.39

More information about ratification is coming soon. Thank you to the members for your support and engagement throughout this lengthy process. If you have any questions about this update, please contact a member of the negotiating team.

AUPE NEGOTIATING TEAMS – BETHANY CARE SOCIETY

Airdrie NC (084/009)

Sabrina Edwards
edwardss@telus.net or 403-837-2708

Jill Thompson
jillt2@telus.net or 403-874-0076

Airdrie GSS (084/009)

Eileen Booth
bootheileen@rocketemail.com or 403-771-6229

Calgary NC (084/010)

Valerie Monkman
valerie.w.monkman@hotmail.com or 403-460-8161

Aida Varela
aida.varela@yahoo.ca or 587-216-3936

Michelle Fluter
michelle.fluter@hotmail.com or 403-836-4071

Calgary GSS (084/010)

Davinder Bhatti
dkaurbahatti@gmail.com or 403-991-9129

Margaret Billings
mbillings58@shaw.ca or 403-978-8935

Harvest Hills NC (084/011)

Sharon Hoben
shodgins@shaw.ca or 403-813-9416

Mai Fang Tian
tianmf6666@hotmail.com or 403-397-3796

Davinder Manhas
davindermanhas@hotmail.com or 403-590-4884

Cochrane NC (084/017)

Beverly Dyck
byvnne301@hotmail.com

Red Deer (084/015)

Lourdes Alberto
lourds09@yahoo.ca or 403-872-3718

Cheryl Hoffman
cherhoff@live.ca or 825-706-2770

Topaz Phang
topaz_889@hotmail.com or 403-307-3280

Sylvan Lake (084/012)

Nadine Frederick
fredericknadine@outlook.com or 403-391-6607

Josephine Covin
covinj@hotmail.com or 403-505-8924

Didsbury (084/014)

Carrie Sears
crsears8203@gmail.com or 403-808-2713

Brenda Thomson
bltmypin@shaw.ca or 587-436-3927

Teusdae Johnston
teusdaes@hotmail.com or 403-439-0191

Mount View Lodge - Olds (084/013)

June Brogden
j.brogden456@gmail.com or 403-438-0001

Tess (Maria Teresa) McAllister
mtesbar@yahoo.com or 403-438-0051

Tammi Gudjonson
tgudjonson2014@gmail.com or 587-444-0113

Sundre Seniors’ Supportive Living (084/013)

Georgina Alm
gekesa67@gmail.com or 403-559-8493

Jessica McAllister
jesy_mcallister@hotmail.com or 403-895-0784

Janie Wozny
janewozny@gmail.com or 403-586-0323

Riverview NC (084/016)

Regilda Ramos
gildapramos07@gmail.com or 403-796-5118

Lamia Khorfan
lamia.khorfan@gmail.com or 403-483-9487

Cathy Senger
red0141@yahoo.com or 403-926-3379

AUPE RESOURCE STAFF

James Mitchell, Negotiations
j.mitchell@aupe.org

Michelle Szalynski, Organizing
m.szalynski@aupe.org

Christine Yargeau-Becker, Organizing
c.yargeau-becker@aupe.org

Communications
co@aupe.org

News Category

  • Bargaining updates

Local

  • 084 - Continuing Care Separate Employers Central/South

Sector

  • Health care

Related articles