Sign in

AUPE and AHS suspend collective bargaining and extend job protection

Bargaining will be suspended until May 31 and job protections will be extended until May 31.

AUPE and AHS suspend collective bargaining and extend job protection

Text only block

The AUPE Nursing Care and General Support Services negotiating teams have agreed to suspend collective bargaining with AHS until May 31, 2020.

Your negotiating teams also agreed to extend your Employment Security Letters of Understanding until May 31, 2020. These job protection measures were previously scheduled to expire after March 30, 2020.

This comes as a direct response to the COVID-19 pandemic and the need to ensure all Albertans receive the best quality health care during this emergency.

AUPE Nursing Care and General Support Services members are the backbone of our health care system. They include licensed practical nurses, health care aides, environmental services, laundry workers, food service providers and many more.

Safety, cleanliness, and patient care in hospitals depends on the work these AUPE members do all over the province.

Your negotiating teams know how important you are to the public health. We know this is a challenging time for you and we recognize the sacrifices and potential hazards you may face while you work to provide health care to all Albertans.

Because of this, your teams will seek another suspension of bargaining and extension of job protections if COVID-19 is still a threat come May 31.

Your AUPE resource staff are also hard at work helping to ensure your health and safety is protected at work, including asking AHS to increase their respiratory protective equipment (RPE) standards to require (at minimum) an N-95 respirator for all health care workers who may come into contact with the COVID-19 virus.

For more about how the COVID-19 pandemic affects you and your health and safety, please read AUPE’s COVID-19 Member Update, which answers many frequently asked questions, or call the AUPE Resource Centre at 1-800-232-7284.

If you have questions about bargaining or the extension of your job protection letter, please contact a member of your negotiating team or AUPE resource staff.

AHS GSS Negotiating Team

Local 054
Nancy Woods - nancy.janer@gmail.com
Julie Woodford (A) - juliew.chp006@gmail.com

Local 056
Deborah Nawroski – local56.bargaining@gmail.com
Tammy Lanktree (A) - local56.bargaining@gmail.com

Local 057
Darren Graham - chairlocal057@aupe.ca
Wendy Kicia (A) - wendykicia@hotmail.com

Local 058
Anton Schindler - waterdude69@gmail.com
Dave Ibach (A) - dl322j@gmail.com

Local 095
Stacey Ross - sross13@shaw.ca
Dusan Milutinovic (A) - dusan.aupe@yahoo.com

Lamont Health Care Centre GSS
Lorrie Tarka - lorrietarka@hotmail.com
Carol Palichuk - carolpalichuk@hotmail.com

AUPE Resource Staff
Chris Dickson, Lead Negotiator - c.dickson@aupe.org
Jason Rattray, Negotiator – j.rattray@aupe.org
Farid Iskandar, Organizer - f.iskandar@aupe.org
Kate Jacobson, Organizer - k.jacobson@aupe.org
Alexander Delorme, Communications - a.delorme@aupe.org

AHS NC Negotiating Team

Local 041
Christine Vavrik - rvavrik@shaw.ca
Myrna Wright (A) - merite77@shaw.ca

Local 043
Judy Fader - local4308@gmail.com
Marylou Savic (A) - marylousavic@yahoo.ca

Local 044
Brenda Bailer - brendabailer@gmail.com
Laurie Johnson (A) - rycehome5@gmail.com

Local 045
Nancy Burton - ndburton@hotmail.com
Brenda Marks (A) - bmarks23@yahoo.ca

Local 046
Dolline Osterlund - dolly46vc@gmail.com
Sandy Kyle (A) - sandyg.kyle@gmail.com

AUPE Resource Staff

Jason Rattray, Lead Negotiator - j.rattray@aupe.org
Chris Dickson, Negotiator – c.dickson@aupe.org
Farid Iskandar, Organizer - f.iskandar@aupe.org
Kate Jacobson, Organizer - k.jacobson@aupe.org
Alexander Delorme, Communications - a.delorme@aupe.org

News Category

  • Bargaining updates

Related articles