# **ALBERTA TREATY LANDS**

## TREATY 8

#### Signed at Lesser Slave Lake in 1899 and includes 24 First Nations

We would like to begin by acknowledging that we are gathered on Treaty 8 territory, the traditional homeland of the Cree, Dene, and Métis.

We acknowledge the many First Nations, Métis and Inuit whose footsteps have marked these lands for generations. We recognize the land as an act of reconciliation and gratitude to those whose territory we reside on or are visiting.

No matter where you are in Alberta, we are all Treaty people.

### TREATY 6

#### Signed at Carlton and Fort Pitt in 1876 and includes 16 First Nations

We would like to begin by acknowledging that we are gathered on Treaty 6 territory, the traditional homeland of the Cree, Blackfoot, Ojubwe, Dene, Saulteaux, Nakota Sioux, and Métis.

We acknowledge the many First Nations, Métis and Inuit whose footsteps have marked these lands for generations. We recognize the land as an act of reconciliation and gratitude to those whose territory we reside on or are visiting.

No matter where you are in Alberta, we are all Treaty people.

### TREATY 7

## Signed at Blackfoot Crossing of Bow River and Fort Macleod in 1877 and includes 5 First Nations

We would like to begin by acknowledging that we are gathered on Treaty 7 territory, the traditional homeland of the Blackfoot, Nakoda Stoney, and Tsuut'ina First Nations.

We acknowledge the many First Nations, Métis and Inuit whose footsteps have marked these lands for generations. We recognize the land as an act of reconciliation and gratitude to those whose territory we reside on or are visiting.

No matter where you are in Alberta, we are all Treaty people.



