Sign in

AUPE and Covenant Health suspend bargaining and extend job protections

Bargaining will be suspended until May 31 and job protections will be extended until May 31.

AUPE and Covenant Health suspend bargaining and extend job protections

Text only block

The AUPE Covenant Health Nursing Care and General Support Services negotiating teams have agreed to suspend collective bargaining with Covenant Health until May 31, 2020.

Both parties also agreed to extend your Employment Security Letters of Understanding until May 31, 2020. These job protection measures were previously scheduled to expire after March 30, 2020.

This is a direct response to the COVID-19 pandemic and the need to provide Albertans with the best quality health care during this emergency.

Covenant Health Nursing Care and General Support Services workers are part of the backbone of our health care system. They include licensed practical nurses, health care aides, environmental services, laundry workers, food service providers and many more.

Safety, cleanliness, and patient care in hospitals depends on the work these AUPE members do all over the province.

We know how important you are to the public health. We know this is a challenging time for you and we recognize the sacrifices you make to provide health care to all Albertans.

Because of this, your negotiating teams will seek another suspension of bargaining and extension of job protections if COVID-19 is still a threat come May 31.

Your AUPE resource staff are also hard at work helping to ensure your health and safety is protected at work, including asking Covenant Health to increase their respiratory protective equipment (RPE) standards to require (at minimum) an N-95 respirator for all health care workers who may come into contact with the COVID-19 virus.

For more about how the COVID-19 pandemic affects you and your health and safety, please read AUPE’s COVID-19 Member Update, which answers many frequently asked questions, or call the AUPE Resource Centre at 1-800-232-7284.

If you have questions about bargaining or the extension of your job protection letter, please contact a member of your negotiating team or AUPE resource staff.

Covenant Health GSS Negotiating Team

Lorie Christenson, lcc44local40@hotmail.com
Corey Kucher, cjkucher@gmail.com
Christee Langkamp, christee7@gmail.com
Judy Prokopchuk (A), judyprokopchuk@gmail.com

AUPE Resource Staff

Chris Dickson, Negotiator - c.dickson@aupe.org
Madelaine Sommers, Organizer - m.sommers@aupe.org
Michelle Szalynski, Organizer - m.szalynski@aupe.org
Alexander Delorme, Communications - a.delorme@aupe.org

Covenant NC Negotiating Team

Local 040
Kathy Bandmann, kbandmann@hotmail.com
Bevery Hill, bhill3095@gmail.com
Ambrosia Dyson (A), amberbalog@gmail.com
Local 046
Mary Watson, maynayvatson@hotmail.com
Laura Johnstone, johnstone_laura@hotmail.com
Derrek Luu (A), derrekluu@yahoo.ca

AUPE Resource Staff

Chris Dickson, Negotiator - c.dickson@aupe.org
Madelaine Sommers, Organizer - m.sommers@aupe.org
Michelle Szalynski, Organizer - m.szalynski@aupe.org
Alexander Delorme, Communications - a.delorme@aupe.org

 

News Category

  • Bargaining updates

Related articles