EDMONTON – Two days of bargaining this week between the Alberta Union of Provincial Employees and the Government of Alberta has left the union bargaining committee confident the employer clearly understands the issues that concern the government’s more than 21,000 direct employees.

The General Service Bargaining Committee (GSBC) made the concerns of members very clear and the committee’s 10 members are now optimistic that there can be a positive outcome in negotiations as a result, said AUPE President and GSBC Chair Guy Smith.

He described negotiations as being at a critical juncture. “The employer clearly understands the union’s issues and the ball is now in their court,” he said. “We are very hopeful that we can reach an agreement acceptable to all parties based on this understanding.

Additional bargaining has been scheduled to take place on March 7, 8 and 9.

After a short impasse in bargaining in January, negotiations between the GSBC and the Alberta government resumed using a formula that allowed the parties to tackle groups of issues under general headings, including:

  • Workload
  • Job security
  • Benefits
  • Pay
  • Workplace issues
  • Indemnification of government employees

The current round of bargaining between AUPE and the government began in August 2010.

The agreement between AUPE and the government is the largest and most complex collective agreement in the province. It is made up of a master agreement covering all direct government employees represented by the union and subsidiary agreements affecting employees in specific occupational areas.

The previous three-year agreement expired on Aug. 31, 2010, but continues in effect until a new agreement is reached.

AUPE and the GSBC are committed to keeping members informed of the progress of these negotiations.

For more information, contact:

Jim Petrie, Staff Negotiator, AUPE

GSBC Members:

Guy Smith, Chair
Faye Rever, Local 001
Jim Dick, Local 002
Cec Cardinal, Local 003
Dan Niven, Local 004
Mike Dempsey, Local 005
Maureen Braun, Local 006
Tammy Zimmerman, Local 009
Margaret Minife-Cloutier, Local 010
Terrie Wispinski, Local 012