Share

Bargaining begins. Employer tables rollbacks.

Your bargaining team met with the employer on May 6, 7 and 14 to begin negotiations for our collective agreement. The employer’s proposals indicated it would be a very difficult round of bargaining.

Legal Aid tabled a number of rollbacks, including significant organizational restructuring that would negatively affect many of us, in terms of compensation and working conditions. They’re also proposing another two years of wage freezes for us, even though they recently indicated compensation increases were coming for out-of-scope employees.

The knowledge and dedication you bring to your positions and the role you play in Alberta’s justice system is indispensable. Your bargaining team will continue to remind Legal Aid of the important contributions our bargaining unit members make to this organization.

Thank you for filling out the bargaining surveys and identifying your main concerns and priorities. Your voices have been heard, and with your continued support we commit to pushing for the improvements you want to see for you and your coworkers.

With a united membership, we can continue to fight for our bargaining priorities and prevent further erosion of our compensation and working conditions.

If you have any questions please contact us. An informed union is a strong union.

Our next bargaining dates are scheduled for June 11 and 12; July 10 and 11; and September 5, 6 and 9. Your bargaining committee is dedicated to keeping you informed throughout the bargaining process.

LEGAL AID SOCIETY BARGAINING TEAM MEMBERS:
Jan Davidson-Carey 403-404-2307 or jan.davidson@hotmail.com
Jamie Simmons 780-599-0098 or j_lynn6449@hotmail.com
Gordon Pochynok 780-232-4612 or g.pochynok@gmail.com

ALTERNATES:
Kyla Kociancic 780-566-8584 kkocianc@hotmail.ca
Michele Lucas 780-288-2535 michele.lucas394@hotmail.com

AUPE RESOURCE STAFF:
Merryn Edwards Negotiator m.edwards@aupe.org
Dave Malka Organizing 780-231-1800 or d.malka@aupe.org
Celia Shea Communications 780-720-8122 or c.shea@aupe.org