Agreement Ratified

St. Elizabeth Health Care members have voted in favour of ratifying a tentative agreement reached with the employer last month.

Our last bargaining update included major highlights from the two-year agreement, which we have included for you again below:

The agreement includes a wage increase of 1% in the second year. We agreed to this because the employer provided a 2% wage increase in both October 2016 and October 2017, outside of the collective bargaining process. Those increases led to the establishment of the new wage grid with initial placement on the grid based upon the wage rate employees had as of October 2017.

Each step forward on the grid represents a 2.5% increase in an employees’ wage rate. All employees advance on the grid when they have worked 1,957.5 hours. This means full-time employees will advance on the grid in October 2018.

The agreement establishes an Employee Management Advisory Committee and an Occupational Health & Safety committee. We also gained the Respect in the Workplace article, which provides protection from discrimination, harassment and bullying. The employer also agreed that all disciplinary letters and sanctions will be purged from an employee’s record after two years, provided they’ve had no further disciplinary measures.

Further highlights of the tentative agreement include:

  • Notice of Sub-contracting article.
  • Alternative dispute resolution process.
  • 25-cent increase to all shift and weekend premiums effective upon ratification.
  • Boxing Day added to named holidays.
  • Additional five vacation days after 10 years of service.
  • Paid sick leave provisions.
  • Four uniforms tops for full-time employees upon hire and three for part-time workers.
  • Employees can exchange one top for a new one every three years.
  • Workload issues letter of understanding.

Your bargaining committee would once again like to thank you for your support and patience throughout this process. If you have any questions about the collective agreement, please contact a member of your committee.

Nemata Okot
Kelefia Ashmale
Cristine Manalaysay

Terry Luhoway Negotiator
Farris Sobhani Organizing
Guy Quenneville Membership Services Officer
Mariam Ibrahim Communications