Share

NEGOTIATIONS CONTINUE

Your bargaining committee met with the government from Sept. 25 to 27 in Edmonton, which resulted in three more items being agreed to by both parties:

  • Sub 2 LOU # 2 RE: Program Advisory Committee – we were successful in adding one additional union representative to the committee to cover the newly created region (North Central).
  • Sub 6 Article #1 Probationary Periods – was amended to increase the probation period for the classification of medical and health four to 12 months. This change will only impact newly hired employees after the ratification of the agreement.
  • Sub 6 Article #3 Overtime – was not changed and was signed off with current language.

The parties are inching closer to dealing with the more substantive issues in the current round of bargaining. The employer indicated it will be prepared to move forward in responding to the union’s proposals on job security, workload and classification in conjunction with monetary demands.

The next bargaining sessions are scheduled for Nov. 14, 15 and Nov. 21, 22, where your committee will continue the push to achieve a collective agreement that provides job security and protects the rights of our members.

Please ensure your contact information is kept up to date with AUPE so you don’t miss out on important bargaining developments. Visit aupe.org/update-me to correct your information.

We remain committed to providing you with information about your bargaining. If you have questions comments or concerns please contact your GSBC representative.

With your continued support we will reach a fair collective agreement.

GSBC BARGAINING TEAM MEMBERS:

Local 001 – Faye Rever rever0001@gmail.com
Local 002 – Emille Currie ecurrie@distributel.net
Local 003 – Mike Larson 003bargaining@gmail.com
Local 004 – Ken Weir kennethweir1@gmail.com
Local 005 – Randy Ramsden r.a.ramsden@hotmail.com
Local 006 – Donna Smith xsmith@telus.net
Local 009 – Darrol Mason masonfox1@hotmail.com
Local 012 – Terrie Wispinski twisp@shaw.ca

AUPE RESOURCE STAFF:

Dale Perry, Lead Negotiator
1-800-232-7284 or d.perry@aupe.org

Mac McNaughton, Negotiator
1-800-232-7284 or m.mcnaughton@aupe.org

Julie Jacques, Organizer
1-800-232-7284 or j.jacques@aupe.org

Farris Sobhani, Organizer
1-800-232-7284 or f.sobhani@aupe.org

Tyler Bedford, Communications
1-800-232-7284 or t.bedford@aupe.org

Resources:
Share