Share

Bargaining continues

On June 27 and 28, your bargaining team met with the employer to begin negotiations for your collective agreement. We’ve met six more times since then.

Unfortunately, the employer continues to propose contract items that do not serve you, even though you are at the frontlines of their facilities, work directly with residents, and have a special understanding of their needs.

Non-Monetary Proposals

Much of the employer’s proposed language would allow them to use their discretion and appoint RNs to some of your work. Items include:

  • A provision for RNs and other non-bargaining unit Bethany employees to perform HCA, LPN and support work “where no bargaining unit member is available.”
  • A provision that would maintain your appointment trial periods up “until the time [your] previous position has been filled.”
  • A provision that allows the employer to fill open shifts that haven’t been claimed, and need to be within 48 hours, on a first-come basis.
  • A provision stating the Employer will try or attempt to try to fill all vacant shifts with an employee from the same classification as was originally assigned the shift. This would include overtime pay). However, Should no staff from the same classification be available for extra shifts, other employees, including RNs, may be offered the shift.

These kinds of language provisions do not put residents’ needs first and show little respect for the specialized training you and your coworkers have; they only reflect management’s needs.

Monetary Proposals

At our Nov. 1 meeting the employer also proposed the following wage increases, in line with the provincial Government and AHS agreements:

  • Sept 1, 2017: zero per cent
  • Sept 1, 2018: zero per cent
  • Sept 1, 2019: wage reopener (general wage increase only)
  • No increase to Flex (HSA) Benefits Account (stays at $750/ annually)
  • No employment security

The only monetary changes the Bethany Care Society has proposed to your current agreement is a reduced wait-time for new employees to qualify and be eligible for the Flex/Health-spending account and RSP.

Along with no offer of any employment security, the employer’s proposals show little understanding of the hard physical and emotional work you do daily.

So we can continue to represent your voice at the table, your bargaining team is planning to hold some member engagement and member mobilization meetings in January and February. These will be an opportunity for you to stay informed and to share your ideas with us. We want to hear from you, and will keep you up to date on the times and locations of the meetings.

We also have tentative bargaining dates scheduled for March 1, 5 and 6.

In the meantime, if you have any other questions, please contact your bargaining team:

BETHANY CARE SOCIETY BARGAINING TEAM MEMBERS:

BETHANY AIRDRIENURSING CARE
Jill Thompson jillt2@telus.net
Sabrina Edwards Edwardss@telus.net
Diana-Lee Erickson delightfull44@gmail.com

BETHANY AIRDRIE – GSS
Sandy Nelson

BETHANY COCHRANE
Cathy Croeze cathycroeze@shaw.ca
Shelley Mazurek slmazurek71@gmail.com
Carol Tardiff tardif1@telus.com

BETHANY CALGARYNURSING CARE
Luanne Braun luanneabraun@gmail.com
Valerie Monkman Valerie.W.Monkman@hotmail.com
Michelle Fluter michelle.fluter@hotmail.com

BETHANY CALGARY – GSS
Olea Lindholm bigbearent@shaw.ca
Margaret Billings mbillings58@shaw.ca

BETHANY HARVEST HILLS
Sharon Hoben shodgins@shaw.ca
Mai Fang Tian tianmf6666@hotmail.com
Catherine Van Tol red0141@yahoo.com

BETHANY COLLEGESIDE
Chantai Paris-Arsenault chantaimparis@hotmail.com
Lourdes Alberto jerlou23@yahoo.ca
Milady Laconsay miladylaconsay@yahoo.ca

BETHANY SYLVAN LAKE
Nadine Frederick fredericknadine@outlook.com
Josephine Covin covinj@hotmail.com
Connie Tuck tuckconnie@outlook.com

BETHANY DIDSBURY
Ebony Burley ebburley@hotmail.com
Monique Page
Jody Mossfeldt

AUPE RESOURCE STAFF:
John Wevers Negotiator j.wevers@aupe.org
Michelle Szalynski Organizer 403-634-8262 or m.szalynski@aupe.org
Celia Shea Communications 780-720-8122 or c.shea@aupe.org

Resources:
Share