Share

Tentative agreement ratified

Your bargaining committee would like to report members have ratified the three-year tentative agreement today following a mail-in ballot count at AUPE headquarters in Edmonton.

A majority of all returned mail-in ballots in favour, determined the outcome.

The agreement expires March 31, 2020 for more than 16,000 nursing care members at Alberta Health Services, Lamont Health Care Centre and Allen Gray Continuing Care Centre, and includes significant improvements to:

  • Employment security
  • Leaves and Entitlements
  • Benefits
  • Pay equity
  • Flex spending account
  • Overtime
  • Health and Safety

Furthermore, wage re-negotiations for 2019-20, will start in January 2019.

If an agreement on wage increases cannot be agreed to at the table, it will be referred to third-party independent binding arbitration.

We will have the ability to apply for arbitration by March 31, 2019 and arbitration would be held no later than June 30, 2019.

All members of AUPE Locals 041, 043, 044, 045 and 046 had the opportunity to participate in the mail-in ratification vote.

Your committee thanks members for taking the time to vote on their tentative agreement, and for the patience and resolve shown throughout this difficult round of negotiations with Alberta Health Services.

We encourage you to continue to be involved in the bargaining process as we enter the wage reopener in January.

Visit aupe.org/ahsnc to view the agreement.

Please do not hesitate to contact a member of your committee with any questions you may have.

Your committee is:

AHS NURSING CARE BARGAINING TEAM MEMBERS:

LOCAL 041
Myrna Wright merite77@shaw.ca
Catherine Sivasankar accb@shaw.ca

LOCAL 043
Judy Fader local4308@gmail.com
Marylou Savic marylousavic@yahoo.ca

LOCAL 044
Brenda Bailer brendabailer@gmail.com
Marg Miller marg.miller@hotmail.ca

LOCAL 045
Brenda Marks bmarks23@yahoo.ca
Angela Smyth angelscare@shaw.ca

LOCAL 046
Dolly Osterlund dollineo@gmail.com
Sandy Kyle sandyg.kyle@gmail.com

AUPE STAFF:

Mac McNaughton Lead Negotiator 1-800-232-7284 or m.mcnaughton@aupe.org
Chris Dickson Negotiator 1-800-232-7284 or c.dickson@aupe.org
Jaime Urbina Organizing 1-800-232-7284 or j.urbina@aupe.org
Tyler Bedford Communications 1-800-232-7284 or t.bedford@aupe.org

Resources:
Share