Share

Bargaining continues

Your bargaining committee met with the employer Feb. 5, 6 and 7 in Edmonton to continue negotiating your next collective agreement.

Bargaining started off difficult, but your committee’s active approach with the employer resulted in agreement on a few important articles and Letters of Understanding (LOU), including a new pilot LOU that will see additional hours given to part-time employees on a seniority basis at five separate worksites across the province. Those worksites have not yet been chosen.

Signed off articles:

Article 6: No discrimination/no harassment – improvement to 90-day time frame and link to employer policy
Article 20: Hours of work (current language)

Signed off LOUs:

LOU 10: Distribution of hours (current language)
LOU 17: Supplemental 1: Flexible work schedule

Note: Current language means the article/LOU will stay as it is written in your current collective agreement.

While progress was made on the above, there has still been little movement from the employer on important items like job security, no contracting out language, workload and wages, which they have tabled at zero per cent for each year for two years.

We’re hopeful, given the progress made at the end of this round of bargaining, that we will see some movement from the employer on these items during our next meetings, scheduled for March 20, 21 and 22.

Please do not hesitate to contact a member of your committee with any questions, comments or concerns you may have.

AHS GSS BARGAINING TEAM MEMBERS:

Local 054
Nancy Woods nancy.janer@gmail.com
Charity Hill charity.johanson@gmail.com

Local 056
Lynne Jones lynnejones92@hotmail.com
Lauren White viagratte@hotmail.com

Local 057
Darren Graham local57bargaining@gmail.com
Ray Tweedle tweedleraymond@gmail.com

Local 058
Karl Clauss clauss42@gmail.com
David Ibach daveibach@telus.net

Local 095
Stacey Ross sross13@shaw.ca
Dusan Milutinovic dusan.aupe@yahoo.com

AUPE Resource Staff
Chris Dickson Lead Negotiator
1-800-232-7284 or c.dickson@aupe.org

Mac McNaughton Negotiator
1-800-232-7284 or m.mcnaughton@aupe.org

Julie Jacques Organizer
1-800-232-7284 or j.jacques@aupe.org

Farris Sobhani Organizer
1-800-232-7284 or f.sobhani@aupe.org

Tyler Bedford Communications
1-800-232-7284 or t.bedford@aupe.org