Share

Survey results are in: bargaining begins soon

Your fellow workers and AUPE representatives asked what you want to see for your worksites, and you told us.

The response rate to the surveys was overwhelming. Thank you for placing so much value on the bargaining process; it truly shows the value you place on your day-to-day work, which affects so many people’s quality of life – seniors and workers alike.

Some of the working conditions you’re most concerned about and want to see introduced and protected, or improved are, in order of priority:
1. Retirement savings plan improvements/ mandatory participation
2. Long term disability plan improvements
3. Vision care
4. Named Holiday pay improvements
5. Short-term disability plan
6. Weekend premium improvements and increases
7. Evening shift differential improvements and increases
8. Night shift differential improvements and increases

You also show a deep commitment to ensuring your jobs are secure and your residents’ wellbeing is prioritized – this means no more cuts to hours, better shift scheduling, eliminating double-shifting, and more transparency with the call-in system.

The majority of you also want to see four-per-cent annual wage increases over a two- or three-year agreement.

As your bargaining team, it’s our job to represent you at the table. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, so we can amplify your voice at the table.

Below is a list of the first bargaining meetings either scheduled or proposed for each site. Find yours and stay informed.

GLENMORE
The first dates the employer is available to meet are Jan. 8 and 9.

SAGEWOOD
We asked the employer when they are available and reminded them of bargaining three times. They still haven’t responded with a date, so we gave them the following options: Jan. 15 and 16; Jan. 23 and 24; or Jan. 30 and 31.

SUNRISE GARDENS
We asked the employer when they are available and reminded them of bargaining three times. They still haven’t responded with a date, so we gave them the following options: Jan. 15 and 16; Jan. 23 and 24; or Jan. 30 and 31.

If you have an questions or feedback, please contact:

GLENMORE BARGAINING TEAM:
Wennie Fallorin 403-542-7805© 403-455-2840 (h) wennie.m.f@gmail.com
Ekhlas Elibaid 403-671-9125© 403-440-9125 (h) eelibaid@gmail.com
Rebeca Johnson 403-708-9070©/ 403-719-1568 (h)

SAGEWOOD BARGAINING TEAM:
Barbara (Barb) Reid (403) 901-6789 btolley999@gmail.com
Dudley Durham (587) 896-7480 dudleydurham@gmail.com
Leonida (Nida) Walsh (403) 399-3106 ntwalsh31@gmail.com

SUNRISE GARDENS BARGAINING TEAM:
Narcisa Delacruz-Cage (Chair) 403-362-0030© ndelacruz45@gmail.com
Carla Hiscock 403-501-4022© carlahiscock@hotmail.com
Immaculata Murphy 403-793-4685© mac-murph@hotmail.com

AUPE RESOURCE STAFF:
John Wevers Negotiator 780-238-4767 j.wevers@aupe.org
Michelle Szalynski Organizer 403-634-8262 m.szalynski@aupe.org
Celia Shea Communications 780-720-8122 c.shea@aupe.org

Resources:
Share