EDMONTON – Delegates at the Alberta Union of Provincial Employees’ 41st annual Convention have elected the union’s newest executive team in a vote held Friday.

Long-time AUPE activist Jason Heistad was re-elected to his third term as executive secretary-treasurer in a ballot held Friday morning. Heistad previously spent eight years serving as a vice-president.

Delegates also elected a team of six new vice-presidents after four ballots. Mike Dempsey, Rod Feland, Bonnie Gostola, James Hart, Susan Slade and Karen Weiers will officially begin their two-year terms after being sworn in at Convention on Saturday afternoon.

Guy Smith was acclaimed to his fifth term as AUPE president on Thursday.

AUPE represents more than 90,000 members in provincial government services, health care, education and boards, agencies and local governments.


For more information:

Tyler Bedford, AUPE senior communications advisor: 780-298-7626
Mariam Ibrahim, AUPE communications officer: 780-984-1428